If you’ve been living in a cave, rules officials admitted they gave an improper ruling to Carlota Ciganda that allowed her to drop her ball at a better distance and angle into the green in a match against Lewis and Lexi Thompson while Ciganda was paired with Suzann Pettersen. Ciganda made par to halve the hole, the Europeans won the 16th hole and ultimately won the match, 1 up.
To make matters worse, it took rules officials 25 minutes for the ruling, which ultimately was wrong.
Lewis only released a statement late Friday evening and didn’t have a chance to sit down and explain her side of the story more. Saturday, following a 1-up victory over Azahara Munoz and Karine Icher in foursomes while paired with Paula Creamer, Lewis vented and said she’s still disappointed, but has used the controversy as fuel to play better for her team.
“I mean, it’s nice that they said that it was wrong, but it’s still, it’s not cool,” Lewis said. “It hurt our team. It hurt the momentum. But everybody on the team, it fired us up more.”
The biggest point Lewis wanted to clarify was that she was on the 15th green during the ruling and that she did speak up about the situation while walking to the 16th green. She felt her concerns were not addressed, which is why the issue flared again after the match was over.
“I said something to the official as we were walking off the green on 15,” Lewis said. “And he didn’t really take into account what I was going to say. And he didn’t really give me a chance to fight it at all. And I was a little disappointed with that.
“If I could do it all over again, I would go back there (and witness the drop) and see what was going on and making sure it was right.”